Lichfield Rugby Club Logo
Membership History Contacts Gallery News

Lichfield RUFC Bowls Club

Lichfield Rugby Union Football Club Bowls Section History

In the 1980’s a group of Rugby Club members joined together to play bowls in Beacon Park, Lichfield, on a Saturday afternoon during the summertime. As they grew in confidence they joined the Trent Valley bowls club and entered the bowls league as the Trent Valley ‘B’ team.

In 1983 the players decided to explore the possibility of establishing a Bowls Section of the LRUFC. Following various discussions and estimates, Dave Ducie and Phil McCardle met with the General Committee of the LRUFC on the 27th June 1985. Permission was granted to construct a bowling green within the grounds of the Rugby Club and to establish a Bowls Section.


After the meeting on the 27th June 1985, the ground for the bowling green was prepared and grass seed sown by the members. At a meeting of the members on the 12 September 1985, the first Bowls Section Committee was elected. Chairman John Bartlett, Secretary Dave Ducie, Treasurer Ray Flint and elected member Roger Buckle.

On the 2nd February 1987 John Bartlett and Dave Ducie attended the AGM of the Lichfield & District Bowls League. Our application to enter an ‘A’ and ‘B’ team into the league was accepted. At that time we had 52 members. The first competative game was the Ray Miller Cup, played on 7th April 1987 and the first League game was played on the 14th April 1987.